Since its establishment in 1946, Maylands Yacht Club has developed a rich history of producing State, National and International sailing champions. This tradition of sailing development continues through the training program, which is designed for people who want to learn to sail so they can race, or just have fun on boats with family and friends.
Maylands has the distinction of being at the "top" of the Swan River. Its history dates back to the 1940s when its members' needs were served by a corrugated-iron shed on the river bank. Some army barracks buildings came on the market and under the leadership of foundation commodore Wally Gaunt, a successful fundraising drive resulted in the purchase of a building that was transported and erected adjacent to the Maylands jetty.
Early photographs of the jetty and a painting of the old shed are displayed in the clubhouse. The current buildings were completed in 1971 with the help of the City of Stirling and are now leased by the Club from the City of Bayswater.
For a much broader history of sailing at Maylands, click here
How it all began: Click here